You are here: Home / Areas of work / Communication and Visibility / News / 21 February 2018 | EU and Armenia sign cooperation priorities until 2020

21 February 2018 | EU and Armenia sign cooperation priorities until 2020

Countries: Armenia

On 21 February, EU High Representative Federica Mogherini and Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian signed the EU-Armenia Partnership Priorities for 2017-2020, which identify key areas for cooperation and will be a basis for EU assistance to Armenia.

The four main areas of cooperation are: strengthening institutions and good governance; economic development and market opportunities; connectivity, energy efficiency, environment and climate action; and mobility and people-to-people contacts. According to the EU, it has earmarked around €160 million for Armenia for the period 2017-2020.

“The European Union and Armenia are, with these Partnership Priorities, further enhancing our already strong friendship and cooperation,” said Mogherini.

“Combined with our new Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement that we signed only three months ago at the Eastern Partnership Summit in Brussels, we are reinforcing our joint commitment to delivering positive results in areas that really make a difference to people’s lives, both in the EU and in Armenia.”

Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, Johannes Hahn, said: “I welcome the adoption of the Partnership Priorities between the European Union and Armenia, which is a direct result of differentiation in our bilateral relations based on mutual interests.”

“This will pave the way for our cooperation with the aim to bring tangible benefits to the daily lives of Armenian citizens,” Hahn added.

ENI SEIS II East project is contributing to improved on-line access to data and state of the environment analyses

Find out more

Press release

EU-Armenia relations